

CITY OF ALBUQUERQUE

City Council

P.O. Box 1293 Albuquerque, NM 87103 Tel: (505) 768-3100 Fax: (505)768-3227 www.cabq.gov/council President Ken Sanchez
District 1

Vice President Trudy E. Jones
District 8

Jon K. Zaman Council Director

Isaac BentonDistrict 2

Klarissa J. PeñaDistrict 3

Brad WinterDistrict 4

Dan LewisDistrict 5

Rey Garduño District 6 **Diane G. Gibson**District 7

Don HarrisDistrict 9

December 3, 2013

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE RE: Election of Officers

At the December 2nd meeting the Council unanimously elected Councilor Ken Sanchez to serve as President. The Council also elected Councilor Trudy Jones as Vice-President and Councilor Dan Lewis as Committee of the Whole Chair.

The President is responsible for presiding over the Council meetings, assigning bills and referring bills to the appropriate committee, preparing the agenda for the Council Meetings, signing all bills passed by the Council, and appointing Councilors to the different committees.

In the absence of the President, the Vice-President shall preside over the meetings and shall have all of the powers and authority of the president.

The Chair of the Committee of the Whole presides over the Committee of the Whole meetings which is responsible for consideration of the Mayor's budget and the proposed Capital Improvement Program (CIP).

The list of committee appointments can be found here: http://www.cabq.gov/council/committees